Home Sweet Habitat

Standard

My little friends and I had a playful day at Toddler Tuesday learning all about habitats and what all organisms need to survive.  We made a forest, pond, desert, arctic and ocean habitat in wash tubs and put our little plastic animal figures into their correct habitats.  Using a small white wash tub filled with sand we planted downed stems and branches and made a forest.  We used bark for logs, sticks as dead trees, pine needles and pine cones for living trees.  We turned a tub with sand and small pieces of plant material into a desert.  A wash tub filled with shimmery blue, washable paint diluted in water was an ocean habitat. My favorite was the pond made out of the magic beads with real lily pads.  The arctic habitat was another favorite, made from shaved ice.  It was a sensory habitat day!

We sang and moved to a joyous and energetic version of “going on a bear hunt” in which we searched a forest, meadow, swamp and cave habitat for our bear. 

At the end of a very fun, and sensory Toddler Tuesday we made our own ocean habitats. We used fish stamps, glitter paint, sequins and paper plates and wala….the ocean:

 

 

ocean habitat

About Joy O' Nature

I am a naturalist on the education staff here at Oatland Island Wildlife Center. I earned a B.S. in Terrestrial Ecology with a minor in Wildlife Biology from the University of Vermont. I recently received my MPH in Environmental Health from the University of Arizona. I have been a classroom science and environmental educator; instructing all ages from preschool to college, for most of my educated life.

One response »

  1. You have such creative, informative…fun…toddler times… as a former children/s librarian I am excited by the way you cover the various subjects…makes me want to do storytime again…I think I will…kudos to you and Oatland AK

Leave a Reply

