Flat Stanley Cycles the Pacific Coast

Standard

IMG_1177
Hey, Flat Stanley here out west exploring the ups and downs and nooks and crannies of every cove, and redwood forest of the Pacific Coast from Eugene Oregon to San Francisco. What an adventure it has been!

I started in Eugene, Oregon on June 7th and rode up, up, up and occasionally down (well that is what it felt like), and what amazing scenery I saw. I ended in San Francisco a day ahead of schedule on June 18th. Each day we rode for about 6.5 hours a day and progressed about 55-65 miles. The total mileage of the trip was 750 miles. Coming from Flat Stanley I can assure you that this is not “Flat” country! It was inspiring cycling through rolling farm hills; vistas of sea stacks in vivid cerulean waters; through giant redwood forests; and along road shoulders covered in fox gloves, fennel, and columbine. I had a tune in my head the entire time by Woody Guthrie: “this land is your land, this land is my land, from California….”

Here are some pictures of the trip for you to enjoy:
IMG_1144

This Guy was bicycle touring with his cat named "Fun Time".  It was crazy to see a house cat in the redwoods climbing in and out of a bike trailer!

This Guy was bicycle touring with his cat named “Fun Time”. It was crazy to see a house cat in the redwoods climbing in and out of a bike trailer!

Cycling through the Humboldt State Park Redwood forests

Cycling through the Humboldt State Park Redwood forests

See if you can find me standing next to this giant.

See if you can find me standing next to this giant.
IMG_1292

Beautiful water

Beautiful water


IMG_1442
Steep cliffs with stunning views.

Steep cliffs with stunning views.

You can't tell but this is a living Abalone.  Everywhere people were snorkeling along the rocks for these big mollusks!

You can’t tell but this is a living Abalone. Everywhere people were snorkeling along the rocks for these big mollusks!

An Ocra Sea star clinging to a rock in a tide pool.

An Ocra Sea star clinging to a rock in a tide pool.

Made it to San Francisco. Here it is...the Golden Gate Bridge.

Made it to San Francisco. Here it is…the Golden Gate Bridge.

And thanks to the person that helped me get around!
IMG_1230

I had a front row view the entire time!

I had a front row view the entire time!

Here is my motto to live by:
IMG_1354

Looking forward to seeing you all in July!

About Joy O' Nature

I am a naturalist on the education staff here at Oatland Island Wildlife Center. I earned a B.S. in Terrestrial Ecology with a minor in Wildlife Biology from the University of Vermont. I recently received my MPH in Environmental Health from the University of Arizona. I have been a classroom science and environmental educator; instructing all ages from preschool to college, for most of my educated life.

Leave a Reply

