Salamander ball and all…

Standard

It has been a while since the last TT. I haven’t been on sabatical or anything; I just have been very delightfully busy getting ready for our Fairy and Gnome Festival that I hope all of you will participate. The Toddler Tuesday room has been transformed into the festival staging area, and there will be plenty of activities; games and general outdoor, imaginative play.

Last week’s salamander ball was a good time; and we didn’t even waltz. We read 2 stories:
KDSalamanderBall

salamander room

We played with ooey, gooey make believe salamander skin. It was gak, or flubber as some people call it. I think it should be called salamander skin. It was just glue, water and a bit of borax. The magic formula can be recreated below:

http://www.omsi.edu/for-kids/flubber

We also played with home-made play-doh and rolled out our own salamanders with it.

I think my favorite part of the day was seeing Molly holding her salamander skin as it ooozed and stretched into thin strands in her tiny little hands. The expression on her face; a precious moment.

By the way, I love hearing reports from mothers about how their kids are impacted by TT activities. Molly’s mom Shylah retells how later that day Molly was doing anthropological investigations on mysterious bones that she discovered; made out of the playdoh we used in TT. My kids are so imaginative! I have the best job in the world!

Here is the recipe for homemade playdoh if you have the time:

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Make-Playdough-Play-doh/

So… my TT peeps, if you don’t come to this special, child-centered festival, you better have a good excuse; because it is going to be a fun time and Ms. Michelle wouldn’t miss Toddler Tuesday for nothing!

I hope to see you Saturday, April 13th. If you are wondering where Ms. Michelle is, she will be the very big gnome with red shoes on!

About Joy O' Nature

I am a naturalist on the education staff here at Oatland Island Wildlife Center. I earned a B.S. in Terrestrial Ecology with a minor in Wildlife Biology from the University of Vermont. I recently received my MPH in Environmental Health from the University of Arizona. I have been a classroom science and environmental educator; instructing all ages from preschool to college, for most of my educated life.

Leave a Reply

