Armadillo is my friend

Standard

We at Toddler Tuesday have kicked off a fantastic new year with a sweet visit from Rochelle, Oatland’s resident female Armadillo.  We sang a few songs:

diggity dig, diggity dig, digging in the garden…diggity dig, diggity dig…dig, dug, grub!

We learned the sign for armadillo, and tested out our armadillo senses.  We discovered that we are pretty good at smelling out the people food and not so good at the armadillo food.  Good thing too, because armadillo’s have a nose for grubs and worms that can be buried up to a foot under ground!  I don’t see a need for us to evolve that super power any time soon.

This week’s craft was bling-tastic.  I couldn’t find any craft in any book or website  that honored our ornate armadillo friend, so I created my own.  We crafted armadillo bling bracelets out of paper towel rolls.  I felt like wonderwoman with my armadillo band on my wrist.  Check it out:

9-banded armadillo bracelet pre-sequins.

9-banded armadillo bracelet pre-sequins.

We stamped texture on our armadillow with bubble wrap, added silver and black sequins and colored with markers for added details. They came out beautifully. Can’t wait for turtle time next week!

P.S. I love my Oatland Babies!

About Joy O' Nature

I am a naturalist on the education staff here at Oatland Island Wildlife Center. I earned a B.S. in Terrestrial Ecology with a minor in Wildlife Biology from the University of Vermont. I recently received my MPH in Environmental Health from the University of Arizona. I have been a classroom science and environmental educator; instructing all ages from preschool to college, for most of my educated life.

Leave a Reply

