Polar Express Party

Standard

We had another fabulous time “making believe” with the little people of Oatland Island this past Tuesday.  We tranformed the room into the Arctic and even saw the northern lights.  

We started the class looking at the Earth and finding places on the globe where it is cold, and where it is warm.  We talked about Arctic animals and how they stay warm and why it is so cold up there.  We talked about how  in Fairbanks, Alaska, the Arctic Circle (where I was born); the sun rose at 10:56 a.m. and set at 2:40 p.m.   Thank goodness my parents moved to where there is more sunlight in the winter!

We played with trainsets, played house in the awesome igloo and painted our ornaments.  It was a fantastic time. 

iglookelleigh and john

A word to ye all:  our next Toddler Tuesday won’t be until January 8th.  I will be lesson planning over the holidays so if you have any special requests please email me and we’ll make it happen.

I also want to take a moment to say bye to Kelleigh, Robbie and John who are moving to Norfolk, VA.  We will certainly miss their smiling faces and are grateful for our times together.

Until next year.  May there be peace, love and light over the holidays for you and your families!~

About Joy O' Nature

I am a naturalist on the education staff here at Oatland Island Wildlife Center. I earned a B.S. in Terrestrial Ecology with a minor in Wildlife Biology from the University of Vermont. I recently received my MPH in Environmental Health from the University of Arizona. I have been a classroom science and environmental educator; instructing all ages from preschool to college, for most of my educated life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

